34 Frank Place

34 Frank Place was constructed in 1928 in one of the most popular architectural styles of the inter-war period, Tudor revival. This is an excellent example of the style, exhibiting a steeply pitched roof, brick construction with a stucco half-timbered façade on the upper storey and casement windows. The projecting second floor was originally designed to allow more floor space as square footage was a premium on the ground floor. In addition, this home is set apart from others of the same style by the level of detail and quality craftsmanship, for example, see the stained glass detailing on the windows. There are six other Tudor revival style homes in this small neighbourhood creating a cohesive community. The land, which once belonged to the Frank family which now makes up Frank Place, was bought by William Gartshore and divided into lots during the 1920s in what is known as the Foxbar subdivision, the first with curved streets in London.

Number 34 is historically significant as it was once home to William E. Dyer. William E. Dyer, a Londoner born in 1900, played a very significant role in the development of London during the mid-twentieth century. Dyer went on to study law at Osgoode Hall (the University of Toronto) and read law with the London firm of Jarvis & Vining. Dyer was called to the Ontario Bar in 1923, after which he became a partner in the firm of Jarvis, Vining and Dyer with offices at 101 Dundas Street. Dyer remained with the firm throughout, until in 1973 it merged with a few other firms and he remained on in an advisory capacity. The law firm created from this merger still exists today at 495 Richmond Street under the name Dyer Brown LLP. Aside from being a prominent lawyer, William Dyer also served as a Municipal Councillor, the Director of the London Executives Club and Hermitage Club, Director of the Western Fair Board and the London Port Stanley Railway. He was once a President of the Middlesex Law Association and served as the City Representative on the Senate of the University of Western Ontario.

William Dyer lived at 34 Frank Place until 1950 when he sold it to Louis and Ethel Planques who operated Accurate Laboratories at 186 King Street with their son Raymond. The Planques family lived in the house until 1971.

Historical information researched and provided by Caitlin Dyer, Masters in Public History, The University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario.